Review: Dying to Survive

Dying to Survive
Dying to Survive by Scott Hildreth
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4 1/2 stars

I just finished this book in one setting and, I honestly don’t know what to think. My mind is still spinning a bit. I’ve never read a book like this, but since I was definitely not in the mood for some happy love story, it did deliver. Sick, twisted, engaging enough to get my mind out of depressing reality for a while, which was what I was looking for.

The writing at the beginning seemed a little awkward to me, but, again, having never read a psychological thriller before, I’m not going to knock on it for that. The ‘voice’ of the book was appropriate and I eventually got used to the feel and ‘settled in’. There was an almost psychotic feel to the narration, which worked well. It was almost like the background music in a movie: you can tell what’s going to happen just by listening to the music.

Perhaps if I hadn’t read the warnings, I would have been more disturbed by the subject manner, but knowing it helped me stay distant from the characters. This helped me get through the book without getting emotionally involved, which is what I was trying to avoid.

If you’re looking for a very, very dark read with no hope of redemption, I would highly recommend it. Don’t get attached, expect the boogie man around every corner. Don’t expect rainbow and butterflies, or even a cute rottweiler, because there are none in this book. None. Exactly what I was looking for.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

